Gluten free banana bread bites

There are a few things that you need to consider as you read this blog post

– I am not gluten sensitive (that, or I’m in denial)
– I have never eaten anything gluten free (Well, yes, obviously, things that are naturally gluten free. Like, there’s no gluten in my milk. Or is there?)
– I have never baked with anything other than wheat flour before

I wanted to make banana bread with almond flour, for fun and for a more nutritional option. Again, I’ve never made anything with almond flour, so that was a first. Also, I don’t actually like banana bread, because it’s always too dry after a day or two. So I decided to make gluten free banana bread bites.

This is going to be fun!

I used this recipe, and this recipe, and changed a bunch of things to achieve the recipe below. And then I looked at a bunch of websites about baking with almond flour. And then I kind of just winged it, based on what looked good, what I had in my cupboards, and how lazy I was feeling. And then I baked the whole thing in mini-muffin pans. (I’m weirdly lazy about things. I go all out with grand ideas, and then I get kind of deflated halfway through and patch things together.)

3/4 cup almond flour (I used almond meal, because I didn’t know that there was a difference, but Trader Joe’s says it’s ‘almost like flour’)
1/4 cup coconut flour (my new favourite thing – I could eat it with a spoon!)
3/4 tsp baking soda
3/4 tsp baking powder
3 bananas (which I mushed using my immersion blender, because nothing annoys me more in baking than lumps of banana)
2 eggs
1.5 tbsp butter (the recipes above call for coconut oil, or olive oil. I don’t have coconut oil, and my olive oil smelled slightly off. Also, the other two recipes were intended to be Paleo, and I’m not concerned about that)
1/4 cup maple syrup (you can add it if you want, but to me it was much, much too sweet!)
1 tsp vanilla extract (fake, because I’m too poor for the fancy stuff)
1 cup chocolate chips or chopped nuts  (I am devastated because I forgot to put some in my recipe!!)

Preheat the oven to 350°. Mix the dry ingredients in one bowl, mix the wet ingredients in another. Then, mix the two together and pour into a bread tin, or a muffin pan. I am led to believe that you would bake it for about 40 minutes in a bread pan. In the mini muffin tins, it took 25 minutes until I figured that they were cooked. Then, I let them sit on the counter in the pan for 10 minutes.

The batter tasted amazing, and looked like normal batter. The muffins banana bread bites smelled amazing as they were baking, and looked kind of like bran muffins.

Guys? These turned out to be delicious!! A little bit too sweet, though, probably because of the maple syrup. I don’t think that it’s necessary at all, actually. Other than that, they are amazing – you wouldn’t even know that they’re GF!

IMGP9821

IMGP9822

IMGP9824

My bananas are not neon yellow. The WB settings were off on my camera. I don’t want to blend more bananas just to show you what colour bananas actually are, you should know that already.

IMGP9827

IMGP9828

IMGP9829

IMGP9830

3 thoughts on “Gluten free banana bread bites

  1. From what I’ve read, almond flour or meal (one was ground with the skins on, the other not – and I can’t remember which is which but it’s all good) is the best flour to use for gluten-free baking. If a recipe calls for many different ingredients (tapioca starch/potato starch) it’s not as healthy. These are the addictive things – and the point of going gluten-free is to not stay addicted to less healthy ingredients. You know, like ‘whole food’ eating is best. That makes logical sense to me. I’ll try this soon and give you my impressions.

Leave a Reply

