Update: DIY headboard, made with an old door and some chalk paint

Last week, I posted about making a headboard  with an old door and some chalk paint from FAT paint.

I felt ready for a change of decor. I love my apartment, especially because everything in it is either from my family, or from a trip.

IMGP9841

IMGP9842

IMGP9846

I really liked the way my room was set up as well, but I was craving something a little bit lighter and more colourful.

392852_10152661247210693_22728309_n

I decided to make a few more pieces to put up on the wall above the headboard, since I was going to take down my wall hanging. I chose to FAT paint some empty frames, and to put up a row of birds that I picked up from their shop. Heather, from Fabric Therapy, has a great step by step blog post if you’re curious about experimenting with chalk paint.

IMGP9631

This frame from Ikea was a cheap option for a cool looking wall piece, but it was a pain to paint!

This colour is more of a burnt orange, but I wasn't really able to capture it

This colour is more of a burnt orange, but I wasn’t really able to capture it

IMGP9837

IMGP9835

The biggest challenge that I encountered after I made my headboard was figuring out how to put it up. I didn’t want to screw it into my bed frame, because I didn’t want to drill holes in a perfectly good pine bed frame. I decided to bolt it to the wall, and a Google search, the owners of FAT paint, and a few bloggers all confirmed that a French cleat was the best way to mount it. Problem is, I wasn’t able to find one! I went to a bunch of stores, and no one seemed to know what I was talking about. I was telling my friend Karen about it the other day, and she yelled to her husband in the other room: “Scott! How do you feel about going to Allie’s this weekend to put up her headboard?” And so they came! Scott made a French cleat in his workshop before coming, and it took him about 10 minutes to put my door up. Part of me wanted to figure it out myself, but he did such a great job that I’m super happy that I got his help.

IMGP9832

There are two of these on the back of the door (top and bottom), so that I can put it up whichever way I want, and so that the door sits flush to the wall

IMGP9833

This is bolted to the wall, and the cleat on the door fits snugly on top of it

This get pretty hot, and I might eventually look for a different way to put these up. But it looks pretty cool this way!

These get pretty hot, and I might eventually look for a different way to put them up. But it looks pretty cool this way!

 

Super pleased with the final result!

Super pleased with the final result!



One thought on “Update: DIY headboard, made with an old door and some chalk paint

Leave a Reply

