Best ever banana muffins, made even better by Nutella

Between knitting a baby sweater, doing laundry, redecorating my room, and writing a university paper (not to mention work!), I decided to make muffins. I went a little crazy this week and bought tons of bananas. The gluten free banana bread bites I made were a great success, and I still had some bananas left, so I decided to make Nutella banana muffins.

I used my regular recipe, but made them in regular sized muffin cups and added Nutella in the middle. They turned out to be super delicious!

Here goes!

1 1/2 cups of flour
1 tsp baking soda
1 tsp baking powder
1/2 tsp salt
5 bananas
1/3 cup butter
1/2 cup sugar (you could definitely go with less)
2 tbsp mayo

Once the batter is ready, warm 3/4 cup of Nutella for 15 seconds. More, and it gets hard and weird – this is just enough time for it to be soft and easy to pour.

Heat oven to 350°. Mix all the wet ingredients in one bowl, and the dry in another. Fold the dry into the wet, and mix just to moisten. Line or grease muffin tins, and them halfway up with batter. Plop one spoonful of Nutella into the middle, and fill to the top with more muffin batter. Take a toothpick, and swirl it around a bit.

Pop them in the oven for 22-25 minutes, and voilà! Delicious banana Nutella muffins!

I made the muffins in regular muffin cups to try out these parchment liners. They work really well!

I made the muffins in regular muffin cups to try out these parchment liners. They work really well!

I didn't actually measure the Nutella, but this is about two very large spoonfuls.

I didn’t actually measure the Nutella, but this is about two very large spoonfuls.

Verdict: the muffins could use a bit more Nutella, in my opinion!

Verdict: the muffins could use a bit more Nutella, in my opinion!

This is how well the parchment paper works

This is how well the parchment paper works

Beautiful golden muffins

Beautiful golden muffins

Gooey layer of Nutella - could use more!

Gooey layer of Nutella – could use more!

Leave a Reply

